School Closure and Reopening Processes

School Temporary Closure Checklist
School Partially Open Checklist
School Reopening Checklist


NST Schools Closure Process
  • Ideally all NST schools will stay open if they have children that need to be in school.
  • Any affected schools must contact the DfE when there is a confirmed case on 0800 046 8687 and select the option for advice following confirmation of a positive case. The line will be open Monday to Friday from 8.00am to 6.00pm, and 10.00am to 4.00pm on Saturdays and Sundays. The school will be given advice regarding potential closure.
  • If schools are forced to consider full or partial closure the remaining staff who are able to attend work and any children of key workers/ EHCP children and Vulnerable children must go to another school with capacity within the hub/cluster.
  • The closing school must first contact the LA Covid team via to discuss the planned closure and any placements that need to be accommodated. The LA may then allocate a host school for any children, as well as the closing school staff.
  • If full closure is agreed with the LA the closing school will contact the host school and consider:
    1. any children who need to be accommodated including any educational needs, social care involvement, safeguarding needs or any further critical information and records.
    2. The staff team capacity that will accompany the children.
    3. Closing school should pass on records for children joining the school role including child’s name, child’s URN, School URN, emergency contact details via encrypted email.
    4. The Host school will send ‘joining’ instructions to the closing school for parent’s information (ie. Letter 1)
  • The host school will then organise an appropriate rota of staff from both host and home school so that all children benefit from familiar adults.
  • The home school will inform parents of closure and arrangement made.
  • Schools marked in yellow have been identified as potential hub schools for the purposes of our cluster model.
  • An LA Lead Officer nominated in July as a key contact for each cluster.


NST Cluster / Hub Model
  Special Cluster

LLC/ Janine Walker to lead

North cluster

Loretta Shepard to lead

Central Cluster

Amanda Dawson to lead

South Cluster

Terry Smith to Lead

LA Lead Officer Janine Walker Karen McAndrew Jasmin Howell Lucy Juby
Cluster 1 Foxwood Glade Hill Forest Fields Milford
HHE Southglade Berridge Dovecote
Rosehill Robin Hood Claremont Greenfields
Oakfield Westglade Mellers Welbeck
Rise Park NNSTC
Henry Whipple Bentinck
Cluster 2 Pat Fielding to lead Sarah Fielding to lead Mandy Austin to lead
Hempshill Haydn Fernwood
Snape Wood Carrington Middleton
Rufford Walter Halls Southwold
Crabtree Seely Melbury
Cantrell Heathfield
Old Basford


If the LA Lead Officer is not available please contact:


Reopening Schools Protocols

Emma Hollis (one of our fantastic School Improvement Advisors) has shared with us this really helpful toolkit:

Judith at Melbury has kindly forwarded to us a copy of their reopening protocols for the classroom, which other schools may find useful: